American Association of Landscape Architects, Honor Award

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) is the largest professional association representing landscape architects in the USA, with 15,428 members in 48 chapters, representing all 50 states, U.S. territories, and 42 countries around the world, plus 68 student chapters. The group was founded on January 4, 1899, to “establish landscape architecture as a recognized profession in North America,” “develop educational studies in landscape architecture,” and “provide a voice of authority in the ‘New Profession'”


Year: 2010

Location: Washington DC, USA

Aziza Chaouni: co-recipient with Takako Tajima

Project: “Fez River Rehabilitation Project”

Role in Project: co-principal in charge, project lead architect (Takako Tajima co-principal in charge and project lead landscape architect)

Selection Process: blind peer review

Jury Members: Mark Rios (FASLA, Rios Clementi Hale Studios, Los Angeles), Patrick Caughey (FASLA, Wimmer Yamada and Caughey, San Diego), George W. Curry (FASLA, State University of New York), Tom Leader (ASLA, Tom Leader Studio, Berkeley, California), Scott Mehaffey (FASLA, Office of the Mayor, Chicago), Janet Rosenberg (ASLA, Janet Rosenberg and Associates Inc., Toronto), Stephen Stimson (FASLA, Stephen Stimson Associates, Falmouth, Massachusetts), Christine Ten Eyck (FASLA, Ten Eyck Landscape Architects Inc., Austin, Texas), and Michael Vergason (FASLA, Michael Vergason Landscape Architects Ltd., Alexandria, Virginia)